The Coorparoo Senior Australian Football Club was founded in 1996 by Craig Dixon and was originally named ‘The Treasury Kings’.

Craig Dixon worked at Brisbane’s Treasury Casino and was responsible for organising an annual ‘grudge’ match of Australian Rules Football between the Brisbane Treasury Casino and Gold Coast’s Jupiter’s Casino. Over the years, Treasury proved to be a formidable out t, easily accounting for their Gold Coast opposition. In 1996, a number of players expressed interest in playing on a more regular basis, and with Craig’s organising, the Kings were born.

During the first couple of seasons the Kings competed in AFLSQ’s Division 3 and played under the name Treasury Kings at Yeronga’s home ground. In 1999, a move to the oval, that was once the home of the historic and successful Coorparoo Roos and a promotion to Division 2, brought about the name change to the ‘Coorparoo Kings’ and affiliation with the old club.

After a stint of playing home games at Morningside’s home ground, the Kings returned to Gi n Park at Coorparoo in 2009 affiliating itself with the Coorparoo Roos Junior AFC and U/18 team.

Over its short history Coorparoo Senior AFC has excellent on eld success, strong social focus, large network of past players, supporters, new players increasingly attending games and annual functions which are always growing in popularity. #GTBAK